Octopus & Mollusks

There are an estimated 50,000 species that belong to the invertebrate group known as Mollusca. Members of this diverse group have soft bodies which are composed of a ‘head’ region and a “foot” region.

Included in the Mollusks are the widely-known groups of bivalves (clams, mussels, scallops), cephalopods (cuttlefish, nautilus, octopuses and squids), and gastropods (limpets, snails, slugs).

Things To Know


Featured Animal: Giant Pacific Octopus

The Giant Pacific Octopus prefers chilly waters in the Pacific, but can be found as far north as Alaska and as far south as Southern California. They are stealthy hunters that eat a wide assortment of seafood - most commonly crabs, clams and other mussels. Like other members of the octopus family, the Giant Pacific Octopus uses special pigment cells in its skin to change colors and textures, and can blend in with intricately patterned corals, plants, and rocks.

Highly intelligent creatures, they grow bigger and live longer than any other octopus species.

See it in its new home in Ring of Fire: World of the Octopus

Get the latest news and special offers

Subscribe to our newsletter, special offers and promotional emails.